Like the pop-up thermometer, I am over done!

Thursday, July 15th:  Like a Perdue Oven Stuffer Roaster’s pop-up thermometer, I am done.  Well done.  Baked, fried, sauteed, stir-fried, grilled, roasted.  My brain is toast.  It’s like the electric grid on a 100 degree July afternoon.  Overloaded.  Ready to short out.  Fried.

But unlikely unhealthy fried foods (although tasty), my brain is fried in a great way.  This was my second day at BLC 10 and I didn’t think Day Two would measure up to the great things that I heard and learned during Day One.  I was dead wrong.  Again, I took the 6:02 a.m. train to arrive for the 7:30 a.m. practitioner’s session.  My first choice of workshops was cancelled.  I went to workshop number two and it just didn’t appeal to me.  I wandered into choice number three and by 7:50 a.m., my brain was already on fire.  This team from Watertown was inspiring.  Incredible.  Next up, keynote speaker.  Yesterdays two keynotes where simply outstanding and I did not know how today’s would measure up, especially when I saw he was a Cultural Anthropologist.  Alan November admitted he had never seen this keynote speaker live before.  I became even more skeptical.  Perhaps a cup of ice tea at Au Bon Pain would be better.  However, within one minute, I was fixated on Dr. Michael Wesch and what he had to say.  So fixated that I stayed to attend the follow-up session.  After another mind-stretching, brain burning stretch, I decided I needed a physical stretch and went off to get that ice tea.  There I ran into four Concord and CCHS colleagues who were having lunch.   They invited me to join them and we had great conversations on how to share this information with our K-12 community.  Next stop, off to hear Jeff Utecht, who had been highly recommended by one of my fellow colleagues.  He did not disappoint.  The time flew, I needed badly to go to the bathroom and hated to duck out for even two minutes.  By the time 2:00 came there were flames shooting out of my ears.  I headed down to the Terrace Room to hear Marco Torres (for the third time) discuss music.  Wow — by the time this workshop was over, my pop-up thermometer was up.   I don’t think I could absorb one more thing.

I will blog more about each workshop in more detail later.  But what I can say quickly is this:

1.  Dr. Wesch talked about how only 26% of his college students felt what they learned in the classroom was relevant to their lives.  I have to say that BLC10 has done an outstanding job making every workshop (or 95%) that I attended over the two days totally relevant.  As educators, we need to create the same type of environment for our students.

2.  I learned from Jeff Utecht that blogging is both a platform and a genre.   He said that “blogging is writing and reflecting on learning.”  I finally found out that this writing that I have been doing on my blog is a valid genre 🙂

3.  After yesterday’s iPod Touch experiment not going well, I brought my own MacBook today.  However, after about 4 hours, it was down to 23% power and I had to switch back to my pen and notebook.  On the other hand, my good buddy’s iPad was down to 42% power after being on from 7:30 to 4:00 p.m.  So, I will be saving my pennies for one of these toys next!

The only suggestion I have for the folks at November Learning is to post one of these signs at the doors next year.  What an incredible two days!!!!